Art fairs

ART BASEL HONG KONG 2017: LUCIO FONTANA: I TAGLI

Stand 3D15 | Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Center (1 Harbor Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong), 2017年03月21日 - 03月25日

Installation view, Luxembourg & Dayan at Art Basel Hong Kong 2017

Photo: Sebastiano Pellion di Persano

盧西奧·豐塔納《I TAGLI》 

Luxembourg & Dayan畫廊
香港巴塞爾藝術博覽會
展位:3D15
2017年3月23至25日
香港會議展覽中心
香港灣仔港灣道1號 

Luxembourg & Dayan畫廊隆重宣布將於2017年3月23至25日期間,首次參加香港巴塞爾藝術博覽會,舉辦意大利藝術家盧西奧·豐塔納(Lucio Fontana)的《I Tagli(切割)》展覽。盧西奧·豐塔納是一位二十世紀藝術巨匠,其繪畫與雕塑作品對於空間的研究暗示了超越物質界限的無窮。本次展覽將聚焦藝術家職業生涯重要時期的作品,包括創作於上世紀五十至六十年代的《切割》畫作系列。 

盧西奧·豐塔納於1958至1968年期間創作《切割》系列,給人一種從畫布下揭開宇宙空隙的感受。這系列是豐塔納對於有形與無形空間,以及有限畫布與三維和四維空間之交集的藝術探索。豐塔納把這些作品命名為《空間概念》(Concetti spaziali),意圖將他對畫作表面一反常規的創作形式,表現為他具有批判性,卻又備有建設性的藝術姿態-「有創意的沒有什麼」¹。這使他能夠超越繪畫的形式主義向動態發展,用他的原話來說,能夠讓觀者感受到「存在於空間中的平靜、宇宙的嚴謹以及無窮中的寧靜」²。 

畫廊創始人Daniella Luxembourg及Amalia Dayan表示:「Luxembourg & Dayan首度參加香港巴塞爾藝術博覽會,將會秉承畫廊在歐洲及北美洲的使命,呈獻來自現代藝術大師與當代藝術家的美術館級質量作品。戰後的數年見証了社會政治思想改革與對藝術重新審視之間的交集,我們希望通過亞洲首展,與亞洲區藏家、策展人、藝術學者,以及藝評人等互動,交流有關出自這一時期的作品。」

自畫廊成立以來,Luxembourg & Dayan一直致力於重新審視歐洲的戰後藝術發展,展出了從阿爾貝托·布裡(Alberto Burri)與米開朗基羅·皮斯特萊托(Michelangelo Pistoletto)到梅尼克·格諾利(Domenico Gnoli)與馬歇爾·雷斯(Martial Raysse)等藝術家的展覽。 豐塔納站在這一藝術劇變的最前沿,與阿爾貝托·布裡(Alberto Burri)、皮耶·羅曼佐尼(Piero Manzoni)和魯道夫·阿裡科(Rodolfo Aricò)等意大利藝術家一起,將二維畫布從具象主義與純粹表現主義中擺脫,並重新想像繪畫在哲學上的作用,以及它作為一個有形物體在生活空間中扮演的角色。 

關於藝術家
盧西奧·豐塔納(Lucio Fontana),1899年2月19日出生於阿根廷聖菲省羅薩裡奧(Rosario de Santa Fé),其父親是意大利人,母親是阿根廷人。1905至1922年期間,豐塔納居住在米蘭。隨後他搬回阿根廷,在他父親的雕塑工作室工作了幾年後便開設了個人工作室。1926年,他參與了Nexus的第一個展覽(成立於1907年,Nexus由一群在羅薩裡奧的年輕阿根廷藝術家組成)。1928年,豐塔納回到米蘭,並於布雷拉美術學院(Accademia di Belle Arti di Brera)就學。

1930年,米蘭的Il Milione畫廊為豐塔納策劃了首次個展。1934年,他加入了與該畫廊有關的意大利抽象雕塑家團體。1935年,豐塔納前往巴黎並加入「抽象創造派」(Abstraction-Création, 1931至1936年)。同年,他在意大利阿爾比索拉(Albisola)和巴黎近郊的塞夫爾(Sèvres)工廠提升了他的陶瓷制作技術。1939年,豐塔納加入米蘭反法西斯藝術家團體「潮流」(Corrente, 1938至1943年)﹔也是在此期間,他強化了與建築師的終身合作。

豐塔納於1940年搬到阿根廷首都布宜諾斯艾利斯。他與他的學生在1946年一起創建了阿爾塔米拉學院(Academia de Altamira),並發表《白宣言》(Manifesto blanco)。1947年,豐塔納搬回米蘭,與一群作家和哲學家合作簽署了「空間主義的第一宣言」(Primo manifesto dello spazialismo)。隨後,他在1949至1968年間創作的《空間概念》(Concetti spaziali)作品中探討了這些新的想法。

1949年是豐塔納藝術生涯的轉折點,那一年他創作了首部系列作品--在畫布上戳出洞眼(Buchi),以及首部空間環境作品--在黑暗房間中被觀看的雕塑、熒光畫與黑燈的組合作品。隨後一部作品也啟發了他在天花板裝飾作品中使用霓虹燈管。在二十世紀五十年代初,豐塔納參加了多個意大利非形式藝術(Art Informel)展覽。在那十年中,他在繪畫和雕塑作品創作上探索著不同的藝術效果,如切割與穿孔。1961年,豐塔納的個展在瑪莎·杰克遜畫廊(Martha Jackson Gallery)舉辦,在此期間他也到訪了紐約。1966年,他為米蘭斯卡拉歌劇院設計了歌劇場景和服裝。

在豐塔納藝術生涯的最後一年,他對於在世界各地展出作品,以及從最後的白色作品上獲得的想法愈感興趣。最終他參加了1966年威尼斯雙年展以及1968年卡塞爾文獻展。1968年9月7日,豐塔納在意大利科馬比奧(Comabbio)去世。 

關於Luxembourg & Dayan畫廊
Luxembourg & Dayan畫廊在紐約和倫敦的空間策劃美術館質量的展覽,呈獻現代藝術大師與當代藝術家的作品。自開幕以來,畫廊舉辦多個備受讚譽的展覽,從賈科梅蒂(Alberto Giacometti)、阿爾貝托·布裡(Alberto Burri)、盧西安·弗洛伊德(Lucian Freud)等藝術家的歷史性展覽,到2011年起包括Grisaille, Unpainted Paintings, Thick Paint, The Shaped Canvas, Revisited以及 Word By Word在內的主題展。 

媒體聯絡: 胡思敏(Simone Woo, Jiang Hildebrandt Associates Ltd.) swoo@jianghildebrandt.com +852 9260 14553

Art fairs


Stand 3D15 | Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Center (1 Harbor Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong), 21 - 25 March 2017

Installation view, Luxembourg & Dayan at Art Basel Hong Kong 2017

Photo: Sebastiano Pellion di Persano

Luxembourg & Dayan is pleased to announce its inaugural participation in Art Basel Hong Kong with the exhibition Lucio Fontana: I Tagli, a grouping of the renowned Italian artist's "slashed" paintings of the 1950s and 1960s. The gallery's presentation spotlights a pivotal moment in the career of Fontana (1899-1968), a 20th century titan whose paintings and sculptures investigate the concept of space, suggesting the infinite beyond our worldly confines.


The precise slits in Lucio Fontana's tagli which he produced between 1958 and 1968give the impression of unearthing a cosmic void from beneath the canvas. The tagli were central to Fontana's inquiry into the intersection of tangible and conceptual space, the finite canvas and the potentially boundless expanse of three- and four-dimensions. Naming these bodies of work together Concetti spaziali, or "spatial concepts," Fontana intended his violation of the painting's surface to be a critical but ultimately constructive gesture-a "creative nothing.”¹ It enabled him to venture beyond pictorial formalism towards a dynamism that nonetheless gives the viewer, to use his words, "an impression of spatial calm, of cosmic rigor, of serenity in infinity."²


Since its founding, Luxembourg & Dayan has been deeply engaged in re-examining the artistic developments of postwar Europe, through exhibitions with artists ranging from Alberto Burri and Michelangelo Pistoletto, to Domenico Gnoli and Martial Raysse. The postwar years witnessed the intersection of sociopolitical revolutions and artistic re-evaluations of painting. Fontana was at the forefront of this upheaval. Along with such fellow Italian artists as Burri, Piero Manzoni, and Rodolfo Aricò, he pushed the two-dimensional canvas out of representational or purely expressive registers to rethink the role of painting both philosophically, and as a concrete object in lived space.


The presentation is accompanied by an illustrated publication featuring a text by art historian Pia Gottschaller.


About the Artist

Lucio Fontana was born on February 19, 1899, in Rosario de Santa Fé, Argentina, to an Italian father and an Argentinean mother. He lived in Milan from 1905 to 1922 and then moved back to Argentina, where he worked as a sculptor in his father's studio for several years before opening his own. In 1926, he participated in the first exhibition of Nexus (formed in 1907), a group of young Argentinean artists in Rosario de Santa Fé. On his return to Milan in 1928, Fontana enrolled at the Accademia di Belle Arti di Brera, which he attended for two years. 


The Galleria Il Milione, Milan, organized Fontana's first solo exhibition in 1930. In 1934, he joined the group of abstract Italian sculptors associated with the gallery. The artist traveled to Paris in 1935 and joined the group Abstraction-Création (Abstraction Creation, 1931-36). The same year, he developed his skills in ceramics in Albisola, Italy, and later at the Sèvres factory, near Paris. In 1939, he joined the Milanese anti-Fascist group Corrente (Current, 1938-43). It was during this period that he also intensified his lifelong collaboration with architects.


In 1940, Fontana moved to Buenos Aires. With some of his students he founded the Academia de Altamira in 1946, from which emerged the "Manifesto blanco" ("White manifesto," 1946). He moved back to Milan in 1947 and in collaboration with a group of writers and philosophers signed the "Primo manifesto dello spazialismo" ("First manifesto of spatialism," 1947). He would subsequently explore these new ideas with his Concetti spaziali (Spatial concepts, 1949-68).


The year 1949 marked a turning point in Fontana's career; he concurrently created his first series of paintings in which he punctured the canvas with buchi (holes), and his first spatial environment-a combination of sculptures, fluorescent paintings, and black lights to be viewed in a darkened room. The latter work soon led him to employ neon tubing in ceiling decoration. In the early 1950s, he participated in Italian Art Informel exhibitions. During this decade, he explored working with various effects, such as slashing and perforating, in both painting and sculpture. The artist visited New York in 1961 during a show of his work at the Martha Jackson Gallery. In 1966, he designed opera sets and costumes for La Scala, Milan. 


In the last year of his career, Fontana became increasingly interested in the staging of his work in the many exhibitions that honored him worldwide, as well as in the idea of purity achieved in his last white canvases. These concerns were prominent at the 1966 Venice Biennale, for which he designed the environment for his work, and at the 1968 Documenta, Kassel, West Germany. Fontana died on September 7, 1968, in Comabbio, Italy.


About Luxembourg & Dayan

Luxembourg & Dayan presents curated, museum-quality exhibitions of works by modern masters and contemporary artists in its spaces in New York and London. Since opening, the gallery has presented a number of critically-acclaimed exhibitions, ranging from historical presentations of artists, such as Alberto Giacometti, Alberto Burri, and Lucian Freud, to thematic survey exhibitions, which since 2011 have included GrisailleUnpainted PaintingsThick PaintThe Shaped Canvas, Revisited, and Word By Word.


Media contact

Andrea Schwan, Andrea Schwan Inc., +1 917 371 5023

Gair Burton, Pickles PR,, +44 7402 784 470

Simone Woo, Jiang Hildebrandt Associates Ltd.,, +852 9260 1455


1. L. Fontana, quoted in C. Lonzi, Autoritratto, pp. 319-22; in Lucio Fontana (exh. cat.), Palazzo della Esposizioni, Rome: Electa, 1998, p. 246.

2. L. Fontana, quoted in E. Crispolti, Lucio Fontana: Catalogo ragionato di sculture, dipinti, ambientazioni, Vol. I, Milan: Skira, 2006, p. 105.

Artwork © 2017 Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / SIAE, Rome. Photo: Guillaume Ziccarelli

Lucio Fontana working, artist's studio, Paris, 1958-1973. Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)